Silent Picture No. 1

Accompanied by the Author

You Must Have Something on Your Mind is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a paid subscriber.

I recently became fascinated with a time lapse feature on my cell phone. Having been a traditional photographer and sometime videographer for years, it is amazing what the little phone can produced. I walked up to Margaret Corbin Circle in my Washington Heights neighborhood and took a series of movement-x-4 sequences, of which this is the latest. As I accompany professionally, I thought this might be an ideal experiment in movement, light, shade, and music.

Fast-moving clouds provide undulating shadow and light over the scene, as people move about, often intermixing. At one point I look up at the remarkable dragon formation in the clouds. At times the traffic appears to offer a Keatonic series of near misses, though this is more like the “undercrank” effect of early 20th Century silent pictures.

Thank you, and keep subscribing. It supports.

James Steeber

0 Comments
You Must Have Something on Your Mind
You Must Have Something on Your Mind
Authors
James M. Steeber