1

Collaboration with a Poet 3

"l'Hermitage"
1

Here was another artistic challenge from poet friend P.B.W. Images from a journey, a trip, a moment again in time. How was I to express it in images and sound? He had sent this as a textual poem sometime before, but now I had the author reading it in a sound file. The challenge was on, as the imagery in my head was becoming clearer. I went through photographs, locating things that “matched” the lines of the poem. Actually, nothing matches them, but the images should compliment the words. I could not really find anything visually that automatically complimented the last stanza of this open verse poem, so I had to imply something that was both seen and not seen, almost like a harmonic, a reflection.

After assembling a good silent version, I loaded the resulting video on my phone and brought that over to the keyboard where I treated the visual sequence like a silent movie, and I accompanied it, doing two versions when the first version failed to show up on the cloud. Everything was then refined and coordinated. I shared this with P.B.W. who offered a pair of minor suggestions which were well-observed. I worked on those until “l’Hermitage” looked and sounded as it was supposed to - then another review, and we were done.


The original post and poem is here.

P(r)oems & Photographs
l'Hermitage
Watch now (2 min) | before the city fixes its face arranges affairs and persuasions before a leather valise has been carefully shouldered in randomness before anyone discerns the slow car rising and falling over the speed bump a coasting bicycle passing by before the sun’s slow arc brings the provincial beauty before the cicadas mark the oppressive heat with their passi…
Read more

You Must Have Something on Your Mind is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a paid subscriber. You and I will both feel better.

1 Comment
You Must Have Something on Your Mind
You Must Have Something on Your Mind
Authors
James M. Steeber